Blog posts – September-December 2006 – copied from Multiply

Blog Entry I’M BACK!!! Sep 3, ’06 4:19 PM
for everyone

Just a quick entry to let you all know that I am alive and well!!!  I’ve only just got the internet working here, and I have thousands of messages to check through, as you can imagine.  I will post more about our horrendous journey later, but for now, suffice to say that we are all well, and settling in.  My daughter started her new school yesterday too.

 

heypaula
heypaula wrote on Sep 3, ’06
Somayya, so glad to hear that everyone is settling in and doing well. Thanks for letting us know!

gothtigger
gothtigger wrote on Sep 4, ’06
Ditto! Glad to here you’re settled and your daughter is back at school – I’m sure she will have new friends by the end of the week!

Mind you, we will know when you are truly settled – you will send pics of your stitching!

Hugs

 

 

Blog Entry Some stitching done! Sep 6, ’06 12:30 PM
for everyone

I have been doing a little stitching and I’ve put a couple of pictures in my album.  The first little project was a freebie from Reflets De Soie.  I did this to keep myself occupied during the journey and when we first arrived.  The picture is terrible, and I will try to get a better one to show the pretty colour of the material, but I have given it to my sister-in-law who is going to be moving to a new home this month.

The second is progress on ABC Deja Vue.  Again the colour of the thread doesn’t really show up very well.  But it is really pretty and I am very pleased with my first project in silk.

 

heypaula
heypaula wrote on Sep 6, ’06
Somayya, the colors in both are gorgeous, even in the pictures! Will you be framing Coer or finishing it in another way?

somayya1
somayya1 wrote on Sep 6, ’06
My sil will be framing it – she wants to put it in her new bedroom, I think.

 

 

Blog Entry A finish Oct 28, ’06 1:03 PM
for everyone

Well I’ve been quietly getting on with ABC Deja Vue.  I’ve loved working with silk for the first time, and I think it has turned out really pretty.  I can’t seem to get a good picture of the variegation in the thread.  Maybe once I’ve got my scanner up and running, I’ll try scanning it.

Anyway, now to decide what to work on next.  I am still waiting to move into my own apartment, so I won’t be working on my big Kab’aa doors project just yet.  So, I’ll have a look through my stash and see what takes my fancy!!!

 

 

Blog Entry A few more finishes Nov 14, ’06 6:41 PM
for everyone

I’ve been stitching up a storm the last week or so, waiting for the builders to finish in our apartment.  I’ve put up some photos of my latest finishes.

The little house is for my daughter.  The stitching part was easy but putting it together was quite fiddly – so the finish isn’t as neat as I would have liked.

The Dreaming by Dinky Dyes is stitched on a pale pink evenweave with Anchor variegated thread.  I’m thinking of making this up into a cushion at some stage.

Lastly the heart is a present for my mother-in-law.  She loves chilli peppers and grows them in her garden, so I thought she might like this.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

